Brunei Football Veteran Wins!

The New Sabah Times yesterday (23rd November 2009) reported this headline "Spectacular Bothwell goal seals Brunei Veterans’ victory" and had this story (good to know we can still win it):

KOTA KINABALU: Mohd Brian Iman Abdullah Bothwell scored a spectacular goal in sudden-death extra time to help Brunei Veterans retain the Borneo 7s crown for the second successive year.

Brunei Veterans, made up of Brunei ex-national players, defeated MX10, virtually the same side that lost the final last year, albeit that last time out they played under the Lecoq FC banner.

Yesterday, it was a closely contested affair with Brunei Veterans drawing first blood through Mohd Brian Iman’s opener as early as the third minute.

But MX10, who were strengthened by almost all ex-Rhinos with the likes of Bobby Chua, Harun Laban, Andrew Laban and Suharmin Yusof, found the equaliser when ex-Rhinos’ skipper Jelius Ating nodded home in the ninth minute.

Then Harun helped MX10 to take the lead by slotting home in the 11th minute.

But MX10’s lead was short-lived as ex-Brunei international Azmanuddin Gillen put his side on level terms a minute later to eventually drag the game into five minutes of sudden-death extra time.

It was barely less than 15 seconds into extra time, when Mohd Brian Iman struck the winner, by unleashing the ball from the halfway mark that caught MX10 custodian Bacho Illyas off guard to eventually win 3-2.

Last year, both teams were tied one-all after extra-time before Brunei Veterans won the inaugural tournament 5-4 through a penalty shootout.

Besides Mohd Brian Iman and Azmanuddin, Brunei Veterans also had in their team the likes of Pg Sallehuddin Pg Hj Damit, Hj Hassan Hj Damit, Ishak Ibrahim, Osman Hj Apong, Puncha Gunong, Mohd Saidy, Suni Mat Jerah and Hj Sallehudin Lee Abdullah.

Mohd Hasnol Ayub, Solumin Sanor, Tan Tack Ming, Mohd Lajim Asmat and Mick Govind completed the MX10 squad managed by former Rhinos’ team manager Joehari Ayub.

Earlier on, Likas United defeated V’s Star 2-0 to finish third while KK Pro’s won the Silver final defeating Rontogtino FC 3-0, while La Sallites claimed the third spot after edging JKR Veteran 2-1 in the playoff.

The tournament, organised by Borneo Sports & Adventure Holidays and played on a slightly smaller pitch, was held at the Likas Stadium.


Popular posts from this blog

Brunei Royal Wedding 2015: Profile of Royal Bride Dayangku Raabi'atul Adawiyyah

Family Titles in Brunei

Pulau Cermin - Brunei's Historic Island